A few gifts co-created with Nature simply & inexpensively

This holiday season gifts that reflected what was important to me was gifted to family and friends.  Gifts co-created with nature and in some cases involving loving garden care over 2016’s four seasons! Here are some pictures of these wonderful and heart-felt gifts:

Bay Leaves from my Bay Leaf Tree growing in my garden
pic by Renee Lindstrom

Sack of Bay Leaves

I found some small burlap sacks at a dollar store in the perfect size for holding a handful of bay leaves off my tree!

Paper – White Bulbs
Pic by Renee Lindstrom

Flowering Bulbs Indoors

At the dollar store I found some simple glasses vases in the perfect share and size for starting bulbs without soil!  In the ones that I gifted this year I placed paper-white bulbs.  They were big enough to put one per dish!  I received a message back of how much joy and fascination this gift brought them.

Pot of Hens and Chicks for Indoors
Healing Pot of Joy!

Healing Pot of Joy!

These tin pots were sourced at our local Habitat for Humanity Store.  I found them inexpensive and handy.  A small plastic plant saucer, some indoors dirt from the grocery store and with some plants from my garden the pot is ready.  I consider these little pots to be filled with useful healing qualities.

Woman’s Flower Tea
Flower Tea

Flower Tea

This tea was gifted to an important young woman in my life.  Over the year I had gathered Feverfew, Calendula, Peony, Rose and Mullein Flowers.  These flowers are perfect for a soothing and healing tea for aches, pains and headaches.  Physical ailments common to young women!   I found the glass containers at the dollar store.

Seeds, Tinctures & Oils
Seeds, tinctures & oiils

Seeds, tinctures & oils

Over the four seasons of 2016, leaves, stems, flowers, roots and were gathered from my garden and Victoria neighbourhood. Infused Oils were made using Olive Oil, Infused Tinctures were made using 100 percent Vodka, Flowers, stems, Roots and Seeds were dried to save and to make teas.  I had so such fun putting together a little sack of seeds, infused oil and infused tinctures of the same plant to give as gifts!  Not only had nature infused its properties, my heart was radiating!!!  All the accessories such as sacks, labels, etc., were all sources cheaply.  The product  itself  is priceless.


Traditional uses and properties of herbs are for educational purposes only.  This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.  Every attempt has been made for accuracy, but none is guaranteed. Any serious health concerns or if you are pregnant, you should always check with your health care practitioner before self-administering herbs.

